Each year ESSYI hires eight to ten HWS student staff members who make everything work during the two-week program. They function as teaching assistants, residence hall assistants, mentors and help to shepherd the students throughout the program.


Avery wickersham

Hello! I am Avery and a 2019 graduate of HWS from Wellesley, Massachusetts. While attending the colleges I was a Mathematics and Education double major minoring in Geoscience. This coming school year I will be completing a Masters of Arts in Teaching at HWS. When not in school I love taking the time to go hiking and explore new places. This is my second summer doing ESSYI and could not be more excited!




Bethany kharrazi

Hey there! I am a rising junior from the San Francisco Bay Area in California. On campus, I am a Geoscience major focusing on hydrogeology, and an English minor. For these past two summers, I have done summer research on the water quality of Finger Lakes as well as blue-green algae blooms. At HWS, I have loved the opportunity to apply my liberal arts education in the classroom to the field!



Hadley browning

Hello! I am a rising Senior from Natick, Massachusetts studying psychology and public policy. I am also working towards my teaching certificate in special and elementary education as part of the HWS Teacher Education Program. On campus, I am a member of the William Smith cross country team and KOSHARE Dance Collective, as well as a student assistant at Career Services. HWS has given me the opportunity to study abroad in Perth, Australia, which has flourished my love for hiking, camping, and backpacking in the great outdoors! 

Anna M picture .jpeg

Anna Moreau

Hello everyone! I’m a rising senior at William Smith. I grew up in Saratoga Springs, NY, and I am studying Environmental Studies, Biology, and Sustainable Community Development. On campus, I am a member of the William Smith rowing team and am involved with the Pre-Orientation Adventure Program and Eco-Reps. Through the Center for Global Education at HWS, I have been also lucky enough to explore different environments in Wales, Australia, and New Zealand, which has impacted the way I think about the environment. I have always been passionate about the outdoors, and some of my favorite things to do are hike, camp, run, ski, row, and climb! I can’t wait to meet all of you this summer! 


ANTHONY carella

I am a rising sophomore from Toronto, Ontario and a member of the Hobart Rowing team. My major and minor are undeclared, but I am passionate about environmental studies, geoscience and international relations. ESSYI has stood out to me as a great program that will allow me to share my experiences with people who can share theirs with me. I love being in nature and hiking in new places.


Alyssa kelly

I am a senior from Dover, Massachusetts. I am an Environmental Studies major and I am double minoring in Sustainable Community Development and Education. After graduation, I will be returning to HWS to complete a graduate degree in Masters of Arts and Teaching Program. My future plans include traveling abroad to teach, because I love experiencing new places and people. Besides traveling, I also love spending time with family and friends and being outside! 



Hi! I grew up in Naples, NY and now I am a rising junior here studying Media and Society, Entrepreneurial Studies, and Art. I am veryactive in our HWS outdoor club (ORAP) and our improv comedy club. Other than that, I spend much of my time skiing, hiking mountains, playing guitar, drawing, and the like. I’m also super excited to have the opportunity to meet young, like-minded people who care enough to spend their time talking about complex issues like environmentalism.


emma Wilber

Hi everyone! my name is Emma Wilber and I'm a rising junior. I am from the Berkshires in Massachusetts and have spent my whole childhood and life in the woods and environment. I am an environmental studies major and am extremely passionate about it. Last summer I was given the opportunity to do summer research at the colleges with Professor Halfman looking at green-blue algae in the Finger Lakes and I will also be participating in the same research this summer. I enjoy hiking, swimming, camping, and biking anything that involves being outside!